Admissions are open for the Academic Year 2021-22.


Department of Mathematics - Overview

The department was established in the year 1946 to teach mathematics to the students of Civil, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering branches. The Department of Mathematics has faculty strength of 22 members (4 Professors, 3 Associate Professors and 15 Assistant Professors). Sixteen of them have doctoral degree and Six are pursuing their Ph.D. program. The department offers courses for both UG and PG Programs. The department is recognized as one of its research centres by the VTU during 2004.

Five research scholars are awarded Ph.D. degree and currently Fifteen persons are perusing part time Ph.D. program. The thrust areas of research of the department include Fluid Mechanics, Mathematical modelling, Integral transforms, Number theory and Graph theory.

Based on the needs of various disciplines, the department is imparting the updated curriculum from time to time. With the available expertise, in addition to offering the core courses during the first four semesters of BE programs, is offering 5 electives at the Institutional level during the final year of BE program.


Be one of the leading centers for teaching & research in Mathematics


Encourage analytical, independent, rational thinking and enhance problem solving skills of the students

Established: 1973

Sanctioned Intake: 60

Status of the Department: Grant in Aid VTU Recognized R & D Centre